Insania was founded in 1992 by two musicians from Stockholm – Mikko Korsbäck (drums) and Henrik Juhano (guitar). The goal was to write and play music in the vein of Helloween, Gamma Ray and Blind Guardian. Henrik had earlier played in various garage bands. In the band was also bassist Tomas Stolt, who left the band after a short while, to play in with other acts, but returned in 1996 and has been with the band since. Mikko knew a guy from school whose name was Niklas Dahlin, and he became the second guitarist of the band. After keyboardist Patrik Västilä and vocalist David Henriksson from the northern parts of Sweden had joined – (Mikko had earlier handled the vocals, but wanted to concentrate on the drums from now on, since singing had become too tiresome) – the line-up was complete.

They released two demos followed by their first studio album in 1999, called World of Ice. It was followed by Sunrise In Riverland one year later. The album was recorded in Finnvox studios with renowned producer Mikko Karmila. After the release, several gigs followed in Sweden.

The band has lost and replaced many members over the years. In 2001, after a short tour with Saxon, David Henriksson decided to leave the band and return to his hometown in northern Sweden, since he did not feel any motivation to continue anymore. After a short search, the band found a new and very talented singer in Ola Halén from Nacka. Returning to Finland, the band started recording their third album. Mikko Karmila was once again recruited for the producing duties, and Fantasy – A New Dimension was released in February 2003 – almost half a year after the recordings.

At the end of 2002 keyboardist Patrik Västilä told the band he wanted to quit, to focus on his studies. The band found a new keyboardist in Dimitri Keiski, who was recommended by Ola Halén, who knew him since earlier. Shortly thereafter, both guitarists Henrik Juhano and Niklas Dahlin left the band for personal reasons. Fortunately, the thirty-one year old Peter Östros from Haninge (a suburb of Stockholm) took their places. It was decided to continue with only one guitarist, so as to give more space to the keyboards. A new demo was recorded between December 2003 and January 2004 with four new songs, showcasing the abilities of the new line-up regarding the composing of songs and the versatility of musical skills.

In the summer of 2005, the band signed a record deal with Swedish label Black Lodge (Sound Pollution). The band recorded their fourth full-length album Agony – Gift Of Life during December 2005, but due to technical errors, it was not mastered until November 2006. It was released on June 1 in Sweden and on June 15th, 2007, in the rest of the world.

In November/December 2007 the band embarked on a two-week European tour as support act for Ensiferum together with Taiwanese band Chthonic.


* Johan Fahlberg – Vocals
* Peter Östros – Lead guitar
* Henrik Juhano – Guitar
* Dimitri Keiski – Bass
* Patrik Västilä – Keyboards
* Mikko Korsbäck – Drums

* David Henriksson – Vocals
* Henrik Juhano – Guitars
* Niklas Dahlin – Guitars
* Patrik Västilä – Keyboards
* Ola Halén – Vocals
* Tomas Stolt – Bass


* World Of Ice (1999)
* Sunrise In Riverland (2001)
* Fantasy – A New Dimension (2003)
* Agony – Gift of Life (2007)

World of Ice

World of Ice
CD, 1999 – No Fashion Records

1. Insaniation
2. Fighting My Tears
3. Fire
4. With Courage and Pride
5. Forever Alone
6. Private 6-Machine
7. Paradisia
8. World of Ice
9. Furious Seas
10. Forever Is a Long Time
11. Carried by Wings

Bonustracks (Japan)
12. Fire in the Sky
13. Abyss of the Morningstar


Sunrise in Riverland

Sunrise in Riverland
CD, 2001 – No Fashion Records

1. Finlandia
2. Land of the Wintersun
3. Heaven or Hell
4. Beware of the Dragons
5. Angels in the Sky
6. Lost in Time
7. Heading for Tomorrow
8. Sunrise in Riverland
9. Dangerous Mind
10. Seasons of Life
11. Tears of the Nature
12. Time of the Prophecies

Bonustrack (Japan)
13. The Right to Be Free



CD, 2002 – No Fashion Records

1. Introduction
2. Life After Life
3. Illusions
4. Carry on
5. Master of My Mind
6. Universe
7. Face the King
8. Fantasy
9. Vengeance
10. Mankind
11. Reflections of Mine

Bonustrack (Japan)
12. St Patriks Lyrics


Insania – Agony – Gift of Life (2007)

1. Agony (Intro, Instrumental)
2. Facing My Destiny
3. Hope
4. To Live Another Day
5. Gift of Life
6. One Day
7. Fight for Life
8. Valley of Sunlight
9. Times of Glory
10. Dreams
11. Time Passes By
12. Alive