The band started off under the name Necronomic playing death metal, as can be heard on their demo (The Obscure, 1991). This attracted some independent labels’ attention, but they turned them down in the hope of a better opportunity. On the 2-track promo that was recorded in 1992, their style had evolved into a slightly more melodic, Iron Maiden-influenced sound, but was still unmistakably death metal.

The band initially consisted of Fredrik Mannberg (guitar/vocals) and Tommy Eriksson (drums), who then hired bassist Nils Eriksson. Following their change of style, the band hired vocalist Anders Zackrisson, whose voice was more adapted than Fredrik Mannberg’s to power metal. Tommy Eriksson was soon after replaced by Ulf Andersson. The band also added a second guitarist, Mikael Söderström. By this time they had fully evolved into the Helloween-style power metal sound of their first three albums.

In 1994, the band signed with Swedish label Dark Age, and the first album In a Time of Blood and Fire was released in collaboration with Megarock Records in 1995. After this, guitarist Mikael Söderström decided to leave the band and was replaced by Nils Norberg. Despite being a replacement for the band’s rhythm guitarist, Norberg became their lead player, with Mannberg switching almost entirely to rhythm from then on. The second album, Tales of Mystery and Imagination, was first released in Japan in late 1997. It was released in Europe in March 1998 on Century Media. The band toured Europe with Overkill and Angel Dust.

The third album, The Sacred Talisman was released in 1999 and featured a new drummer, Owe Lingvall due to a leg injury of Ulf Andersson. The album entered the Japanese charts at #83. Only 2 weeks after the release, the band toured Europe with Nevermore, Morgana Lefay and Sacred Steel and participated in Open air festivals such as 1999’s Dynamo festival. After this, singer Anders Zackrisson was replaced by Jonny Lindqvist, a former band mate of Owe Lingvall. His voice was quite different from his predecessor’s, which gave the band a new face on their next album, Afterlife, released in 2000. The band then toured Europe once again with Iron Savior.

2004 saw the release of the album New World Messiah, followed by a 6 week tour with Edguy and Brainstorm. Two videos were also released in December, Awakening and Against the World, both of them produced by drummer Owe Lingvall.

In 2005, the 10th anniversary was celebrated with the re-release of the 2 first albums and some bonus material on the Lost in Time double CD. The band also played a live show, Demons at the Opera with a 55-piece orchestra at the Umeå Opera House. A documentary about the show was broadcast on Swedish national television.

The album Grand Illusion, out in 2005, featured many special guests, including Jens Johansson (Stratovarius), Henrik Danhage (Evergrey), Kristoffer W. Olivius (Naglfar), Stefan Elmgren (Hammerfall), and, more surprisingly, the Swedish world champion of cross-country skiing (three times world cup gold winner), Per Elofsson who comes from the same town as the band, Umeå.

The band also toured with such acts as Nightwish, Gamma Ray, HammerFall and Labyrinth, and played in festivals such as Wacken Open Air, Sweden Rock, Gates Of Metal, etc.

A new studio album, “The 8th Sin”, was released in 2007. Nils Norberg left the band the following year, with no replacement yet announced.

Current members

* Jonny Lindkvist – Vocals
* Fredrik Mannberg – Rhythm Guitar
* Nils Eriksson – Bass
* Owe Lingvall – Drums

Former members

* Anders Zackrisson – Vocals
* Mikael Söderström – Rhythm Guitar
* Nils Norberg – Lead Guitar
* Ulf Andersson – Drums
* Mattias Bernhardsson – Keyboards
* Tommy Eriksson – Drums (on the demo only)

Title : Released
In a Time of Blood and Fire : 1995
Tales of Mystery and Imagination : 1997
The Sacred Talisman : May 11, 1999
Afterlife : November 13, 2000
Shadowland : May 27, 2002
New World Messiah : March 24, 2004
Grand Illusion : September 19, 2005
The 8th Sin : May 28th, 2007

Nocturnal Rites – 1995 – In a time of blood and fire

TRACK LIST: In a Time of Blood and Fire
CD, 1995 – Megarock Records

1. Sword of Steel
2. Skyline Flame
3. Black Death
4. In a Time of Blood and Fire
5. Dawnspell
6. Lay of Ennui
7. Winds of Death
8. Rest in Peace
9. Dragonisle

Bonustrack (Japanese Release)
10. Lay of Ennui (Demo Version)


Nocturnal Rites – 1997 – Tales of Mystery and Imagination

Tales of Mystery and Imagination
CD, 1997 – Century Media

1. Ring of Steel
2. Dark Secret
3. Test of Time
4. Lost in Time
5. The Vision
6. Warrior’s Retur
7. Change the World
8. Pentagram
9. Eye of the Demon
10. End of the World
11. The Curse
12. Burn in Hell

Bonus Track (Japanese Release)
13. Living for Today (Demo Version)


Nocturnal Rites – 1999 – The sacred talisman

The Sacred Talisman
CD, 1999 – Century Media

1. Destiny Calls
2. The Iron Force
3. Ride On
4. Free at Last
5. Hold On to the Flame
6. Eternity Holds
7. When Fire Comes to Ice
8. The Legend Lives On
9. The King’s Command
10. Unholy Powers (Night of the Witch)
11. Glorious

Bonustrack (Japanese Release)
12. Journey Through Time


Nocturnal Rites – 2000 – Afterlife

CD, 2000 – Century Media

1. Afterlife
2. Wake Up Dead
3. The Sinner’s Cross
4. Hell and Back
5. The Sign
6. The Devil’s Child
7. Genetic Distortion Sequence
8. Sacrifice
9. Temple of the Dead
10. Hellenium

Bonustrack (Japanese Release)
11. Okahoo


Nocturnal Rites – 2002 – Shadowland

CD, 2002 – Century Media

1. Eyes of the Dead
2. Shadowland
3. Invincible
4. Revelation
5. Never Die
6. Underworld
7. Vengeance
8. Faceless God
9. Birth of Chaos
10. The Watcher


Nocturnal Rites – 2004 – New World Messiah

New World Messiah
CD, 2004 – Century Media

1. New World Messiah
2. Against the World
3. Avalon
4. Awakening
5. Egyptica
6. Break Away
7. End of Days
8. The Flame Will Never Die
9. One Nation
10. Nightmare

Bonustracks (Japanese Release)
11. Another Storm
12. Save Us


Nocturnal Rites – 2005 – Grand Illusion

Grand Illusion
CD, 2005 – Century Media

1. Fools Never Die
2. Never Trust
3. Still Alive
4. Something Undefined
5. Our Wasted Days
6. Cuts Like a Knife
7. End of Our Rope
8. Never Ending
9. One by One
10. Deliverance

Bonustracks (Japanese Release)
11. Fade Away
12. Under the Ice


Nocturnal Rites – 2007 – The 8th Sin

The 8th Sin
CD, 2007 – Century Media


1. Call Out to the World
2. Never Again
3. Not the Only
4. Tell Me
5. Not Like You
6. Leave Me Alone
7. Till I Come Alive
8. Strong Enough
9. Me
10. Pain and Pleasure
11. Fool’s Parade (Outro)

Bonustrack (Japanese Release)
12. Coming Home